Week 1, Day 1

This is going to be a short post as naturally I have left everything to the last-minute,  and now its late and I need to go to bed!

So today was pretty good. The back & biceps routine Jamie has outlined for today and next week is pretty straightforward and I was in and out of the gym in about an hour.

The first 2 weeks of this plan are great because I only do weights 4 x week and  will not be doing any cardio the first month. This is so all our calories to go toward building muscle. I really enjoy cardio, so this will be a little weird for me.  I stand and walk on my feet all day, plus I do a light 5-7 minute jog before my training so I’m not worried I will go too crazy. You can read more about the Live Fit plan here, but essentially the first month is about eating clean, and building muscle. In phase 2, I continue building muscle but introduce cardio including HIIT (high intensity interval training) to burn fat. By  phase 3, I have stopped building muscle and instead am focused on carb cycling (explain later) and HIIT to “reveal” all that  hard-earned muscles I developed in phase 1 and 2.  That month will be intense but I’m excited to see the results.

So tonight I made Jamie Eason’s Turkey Muffins.  I basically stuck to the recipe but I added in a large handful of chopped fresh parsley-yum! Cilantro would taste good too. Ok so here were my meals today:

Meal 1: Spinach and egg white (4 whites, 1 whole egg) omelet with Neil Brothers Salsa (no sugar!) and a slice of Ezekiel sprouted bread.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meal 2: I wasn’t too hungry so I just had a Chocolate & PB Simply Bar (pretty clean ingredients, 160 calories and 16 grams of protein!)

Meal 3: Turkey burger served on Ezekiel bread with humus (had no avocado on hand) and tomato served with a green salad, with side of red and yellow pepper strips. I drizzled my salad with a little extra virgin olive oil and apple cider vinegar and some herbs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meal 4: Smoothie: 1/2 banana, some frozen berries, protein powder, green powder, cocoa, ground flax, cinnamon, unsweetened almond milk.Yummy!

Meal 5:

My go-to pasta. I love it! just heat a little coconut oil in a pan, saute sliced onions and  garlic, and add in some red and yellow peppers, shrimp, tomatoes (I might deglaze the pan with a little chicken stock here (white wine is good too :P)  and then I throw in some baby spinach and 1/2 cup cooked brown rice pasta. I turn off the heat and add in 1 oz goat cheese and some fresh chopped basil or parsley. Feta and shrimp is also a great combo. Very filling and great way to add in a lot of veggies!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ok I really need to wrap things up-good night!

BB

One thought on “Week 1, Day 1

  1. All your meals look so healthy, colourful and very tasty. It’s motivating me to kick up my meals a notch! Looking forward to reading your next blog entry.

    j.

Leave a Reply

